Thursday, December 2, 2010

World Cup 2018 & 2022: And The Winner Is...

Did you hear about and hosting the 2018 and 2022 FIFA World Cups?

Just as a refresher, 2014 (20th edition of World Cup) is in Brazil.
Official emblem for Brazil 2014 FIFA

2018 (21st edition of World Cup): RUSSIAvs England vs Belgium-Netherlands vs Spain-Portugal

2022 (22nd edition of World Cup): USA vs Australia vs South Korea vs QATAR vs Japan

Watching the live video stream was intense. Delaying the announcement by 30 mins added even more anxiety to the world awaiting the announcements.

The last time the US hosted a FIFA World Cup was in 1994, and sadly it seems it it staying that way for at least 16 more years.

How does FIFA choose? Each country makes presentation to 22 FIFA voting members. The members visit each of the sites to confirm that the bidding country meets the requirements to host the event. (stadium, transportation system, etc) The candidate receiving the fewest votes in each round is eliminated until a single candidate is chosen by the majority. If there was a tie, FIFA President Joseph Sepp Blatter has the deciding vote.

Full list of the voting members here.


Now ya heard, spread the word.

No comments:

Post a Comment